New Adventures in Familiar Spaces

At the end of this month, I will be moving back to Washington, D.C.

After a long and challenging struggle to begin my career in Toronto, and a tough decision-making process, I can honestly say that I am looking forward to returning to D.C. I have recognized that my ambition has overreached my limitations in Toronto, and instead of viewing the past 8 months as a failure, I am learning to see them as a character-building experience. I have achieved a few milestones in my professional development, volunteered in cultural heritage, taken on extra responsibilities, and gained valuable experience. I have learned to deal with adversity and disappointment and have gained a new perspective.

I have had a wonderful two-plus years in Toronto, and there are many things (and especially people) that I will miss when I’m gone. Downtown city life for one, the TPL for another, and for a third: all the amazing people I’ve met here, including my fellow U of T students and graduates, faculty, staff, SLA and other information professionals, the people I’ve interned and volunteered and worked with, and other random lovely people I had the great fortune to meet and get to know.

Challenges lie ahead of me, as well as behind me, but I believe that opportunity also awaits. Washington, D.C., with the Library of Congress, the Smithsonian, and similar institutions, is a great hub for cultural heritage and information development, practice, thought, and professionals.

In particular, I am looking forward with great excitement to attending the International Summit of the Book, hosted by the Library of Congress and presenting lectures by, discussions among, and conversations between some of the great book history and print culture scholars, librarians, and thinkers of today. Interested? Find out more (and register) here. Registration is free and open to the public. Maybe I’ll see you there.

 

 

One thought on “New Adventures in Familiar Spaces

Leave a Reply

